EL | EN | DE | FR
Το ξενοδοχείοSitemapΕπικοινωνία

Mount Athos

Mount Athos is considered as the unique alive monument in the world that reflects the Orthodoxy and the byzantine art through the frescoes, the monasteries’ architecture, the treasures, the rare icons.

The land borders are located at Ouranoupoli, and lots of pilgrims visit Mount Athos daily by the boat, following the procedure of issuing Diamonitirio (visa).

The first references of monks at Mount Athos are recorded at the first half of the 9th century, where they lived in small huts and caves. Through the pass of the years the monastic life has been organized, reaching the today’s form.

In the mid-10th century, the peninsula of Athos had been recorded as Mount Athos, when much later, in 1926 had been declared as autonomous state. The “avaton” was enshrined with imperial chrysobulls, articles of international regulations, Greek constitutions and legislative decree, which stipulate the prohibition of women’s entry.

The monasteries are communes, which means for all monks are all in common, the food, the housing, the property, the prayer, the work.

  • Μegistis Lavras
  • Vatopediou
  • Ιviron
  • Hilandariou
  • Dionisiou
  • Κoutloumousiou
  • Pantokratoros
  • Xeropotamou
  • Ζografou
  • Docheiariou
  • Κarakallou
  • Filotheou
  • Simonos Petra
  • Agiou Pavlou
  • Stavronikita
  • Xenofontos
  • Gregoriou
  • Εsphigmenou
  • Agiou Panteleiomonos
  • Kastamonitou

(copy 1)

Apart from the monasteries, Mount Athos community consists also from cloisters, cells, huts, seats, in Greek “exartimata”.

It is really worthy to mention that the holy mountain is also called as Virgin Mary’s Garden, where according to the tradition, Virgin Mary on a trip to Cyprus with Lazarus, admiring the beauty of the landscape, asked from her son to be given her as a gift. Since then the name accompanies the sanctity of the holy peninsula.

Holiday Check
TUV 14001
TUV 22000